When trying to load the Groundwork portal you receive a HTTP Status 500 webpage and various java errors


image001

In my ongoing mission to troubleshoot a problem with Groundwork and Nagios I keep stumbling upon random errors which set me back each time. This time after I had made some changes to the /etc/my.cnf file as this seemed to be referenced rather than the /usr/local/groundwork/mysql/my.cnf file. I chose to copy the contents of the /usr/local/groundwork/mysql/my.cnf file to the /etc/my.cnf which amongst other things allowed me to connect remotely using MySQL Workbench. However after a reboot the portal would no longer load and there was a number of Java reported errors as below.

After I had completed the MySQL admin I simply restored the original /etc/my.cnf file which instantly resolved the problem

HTTP Status 500 –

type Exception report

message

description The server encountered an internal error () that prevented it from fulfilling this request.

exception

javax.servlet.ServletException: java.lang.NullPointerException

org.jboss.portal.server.servlet.PortalServlet.service(PortalServlet.java:278)

javax.servlet.http.HttpServlet.service(HttpServlet.java:803)

org.jboss.web.tomcat.filters.ReplyHeaderFilter.doFilter(ReplyHeaderFilter.java:96)

root cause

java.lang.NullPointerException

org.jboss.portal.core.impl.model.portal.PersistentPortalObjectContainer.getObjectNode(PersistentPortalObjectContainer.java:252)

org.jboss.portal.core.impl.model.portal.AbstractPortalObjectContainer.getContext(AbstractPortalObjectContainer.java:112)

org.jboss.portal.core.impl.model.portal.AbstractPortalObjectContainer.getContext(AbstractPortalObjectContainer.java:81)

org.jboss.portal.core.model.portal.DefaultPortalCommandFactory.doMapping(DefaultPortalCommandFactory.java:72)

org.jboss.portal.core.controller.Controller.handle(Controller.java:252)

org.jboss.portal.server.RequestControllerDispatcher.invoke(RequestControllerDispatcher.java:51)

org.jboss.portal.common.invocation.Invocation.invokeNext(Invocation.java:131)

org.jboss.portal.common.invocation.Invocation.invoke(Invocation.java:157)

org.jboss.portal.server.servlet.PortalServlet.service(PortalServlet.java:252)

javax.servlet.http.HttpServlet.service(HttpServlet.java:803)

org.jboss.web.tomcat.filters.ReplyHeaderFilter.doFilter(ReplyHeaderFilter.java:96)

note The full stack trace of the root cause is available in the JBossWeb/2.0.1.GA logs.

One thought on “When trying to load the Groundwork portal you receive a HTTP Status 500 webpage and various java errors

  1. HI,

    I have exactly the same issue.

    I checked the status of groundwork and I got the following output:

    [root@groundworkvm ~]# /usr/local/groundwork/ctlscript.sh status gwservices
    Checking for gwservices:
    nagios2collage_socket is not running
    [ dead ]

    Do you have any idea how I can get it up?

    Thanks in advance
    CRO

Leave a Reply

